a house without doors

In my head, I wrote a whole opening paragraph for a book with that title.  Like most things that come into my head lately, it is long gone.

What it really refers to is our latest project on the house – we literally have no interior doors attached to the doorways.  Only the exterior doors have ever had paint on them.  We replaced many doors when we moved in, and others the previous owners had replaced but not painted.  This means most were heavily stained (as in, with finger grease) and stark white.  Saturday and Sunday we worked hard to get the doors painted.  It took an incredible amount of time to remove all the doors, remove all the knobs and locks, tape the hinges, and get them moved outside to be painted.  Once everything was ready, the paint sprayer we were going to use leaked.  It took much longer, and we only got one coat on one side of most (not nearly all) doors.  Out of a whole weekend of hard work.  Frustrating.

Do you know how cold a bathroom is when there is no door and the shower curtain doesn’t reach the full length of the enclosure?  It’s cold.  Yesterday I blew a circuit with the heat fan and hairdryer on, trying to warm up and dry off.

Tonight some guys in our small group came and made good progress on painting the doors and the door frames.  Thank you!  Joe plans to put a few of the doors back on tomorrow.

Tomorrow we get to see some old friends who had moved away! I’m hoping that Thursday night I can take pictures of a door and (finally) the bathroom.  I know I’ve been saying bathroom pictures are coming for a while (mom), but here’s the deal.  It really is difficult because I need to find the before pictures (on a computer that is blocked in a room so that the doors could be removed) and then take after pictures from similar angles.  Then download and edit and upload them.  Hopefully I can find some old pictures of the doors so you can also see the difference there, too.

On a positive note, we’ve registered some for the baby room since I have a shower at the end of the month.  Tomorrow on my lunch break a couple of friends with babies are going to help me go back through the registry and pick things we will need.

I’m getting some very strong creative urges lately, and there are so many little projects (either non-house related or only decorative) I’d love to do before the baby comes.  All sorts of things, from songs I want to record to baby things I want to embroider.   I’m not sure how many (if any) of those will happen, but my new goal is to get the house in order (and keep it that way) so that I can feel more free to organize and get things ready for the baby room and less overwhelmed with disorder.

We had another doctor’s visit today, and it went well (I’m 27.5 weeks – entering third trimester).  Despite eating red meat almost every day, my iron levels are borderline low, but everything else looks good.  I’m measuring a week big, continued evidence that he might come early.  Less time to prepare sounds scary, but I’ve had enough pregnant friends to know that at that point I’ll be happy for him to come a little early.

That’s it for random venting tonight.  Thanks to all of you who read my ramblings even when there aren’t pictures!

Leave a comment